Istrian honey from Slovenia and Croatia will now be protected by the EU.
The European Commission approved an initiative to include the honey produced in Croatia's and Slovenia's Istria regions in the register of Protected Designation of Origin.
The types of the Istrian honey include acacia honey, sage honey, chestnut honey, linden honey as well as flower and forest honey.
Istrian honey may be produced and packed only in Istria, a region stretching across the Slovenian-Croatian border.
In the past, the two countries have also been successful in protecting other agricultural products such as Istrian extra virgin olive oil, Istrian prosciutto, and the meat of traditional Istrian cattle called boškarin.

Photo: AP
Photo: AP